

STANDARDS COMMITTEE SPECIAL

MINUTES

22 APRIL 2010

Chairman: * Ms Sheila Darr

Councillors: * Husain Akhtar

* Mrs Lurline Champagnie

OBE B E Gate

* Joyce Nickolay

Independent Persons:

Mr M Rizvi

In attendance: * Paul Osborn (Councillors)

Minute <insert no.>

Dr J Kirkland

* Asad Omar

† Mark Versallion

M Rizvi

RECOMMENDED ITEMS

146. Appointment of Independent Members to the Standards Committee

The Chairman of the Selection Panel introduced the report and explained that 22 applications for the posts had been received. A Member of the Committee, who was also a Member of the Selection Panel, commented that the Panel were confident that 5 good candidates had been selected.

^{*} Denotes Member present

Resolved to RECOMMEND: (to Council) That

- (1) the appointments of Dr John Kirkland, Mohammed Rizvi, Derek John Lawrence and Anand Mantri as Independent Members of the Standards Committee from 25 May 2010 until the Annual Council meeting in May 2014, be approved;
- (2) the appointment of James Coyle as a Reserve Independent Member of the Standards Committee from 25 May 2010 until the Annual Council meeting in May 2014, be approved.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 7.37 pm, closed at 7.45 pm).

(Signed) MS SHEILA DARR Chairman